The In Or Out Book Tag

Recall a little while back that I said I’d post the subsequent scenes of my Prompt to Paper Tag today. Scrap that, which you may already have guessed from the title. I argued with myself since doing that would be unprofessional, but such things don’t produce 3 working scenes, let alone a polished draft for the characters I introduced. So, here we are.

I snurched this from The Texas Lass (you’ve probably seen her around), who snurched this from Kate, who got this from Laura Tisdall, who got the idea from Richard Mac Donnell. According to Kate. A snurching process in all its snurching glory.

I’ll answer honestly instead of the popular vote, so if you disagree, rant in the comments. It might just change my mind.

1. Reading the last page first

Starting off strong, I see. In-N-Out. It could change your perception of a book before you even start. A colossal spoiler could be revealed for a mystery/thriller book, but I don’t see a problem with a Laura Ingalls Wilder book. So it depends.

2. Enemies to Lovers

In. At least I can pick sides for some things. My reading scope is so pathetically limited. That’s thanks to the tamed books I’m familiar with. Which is…good, but I can’t say I’ve ever read an Enemies to Lovers full-on novel. A story on the internet, maybe, but I can’t recall. If it’s anything like You’ve Got Mail, You’ve Got Me in on it. (Oh, goodness, that’s cheesy.)

3. Dream Sequences

Out. Out the window and into the burning trash. I believe it shows a lack of creativity, and why must you mislead your readers like that? Unless vital information is communicated that couldn’t have been during waking hours, I don’t wike it.

4. Love Triangles

Out. These are complicated. And messy. And weird. I don’t tolerate it, I’m sorry.

5. Cracked Spines

Imagine asking someone in reality if they prefer their spines cracked or uncracked. It could induce some confusion. Out, but not entirely. It shows use and devotion to a book, but it’s terribly inconvenient.

6. Back to My Small Town

It sounds cute. But Out for now. It gets redundant.

7. Monsters Are Regular People

The idea is intriguing. Sure. In, but humans fit that role quite well already.

8. No Paragraph Breaks

Since when is that an option? Out, thank you. There’s a difference between a stylistic choice and being plain wrong.

9. Multi-Generational Sagas

If not forced into it, I won’t read it. I can’t handle it. I can hardly differentiate the names Peter and Perry in a 30-chapter book. Out.

10. Rereading

The real question is, who doesn’t? Not me. I am In entirely.

I just finished The Book Thief by Markus Zusak and anticipate embarking on its journey again soon. The heavy prose, message, and characters are unforgettable and doubtless, worth returning to.

And some lessons books have to offer are buried deep. You have to shovel a little more to get the real gold.

11. Artificial Intelligence

Sure, why not? In. They have a heart under all the wires and thingamabobs. Or, um, somewhere in their disembodied selves. I’m looking at you, Chat GPT.

12. Drop Caps

Ahh, yes. Ancient vibes, aesthetic purposes. Something else that starts with a. In, but on the condition it’s used only in classic or fantasy books, merely because of nostalgia.

13. Happy Endings

Ou– No, I’m kidding. But let’s note that it has to make sense. I’m sure you’ll agree that it’s not very satisfying when everyone leaves happy and forgets about that one issue lurking in the corner. Averting your gaze will just make it disappear, right?

It’s okay if the guy doesn’t get the girl if the relationship was unwholesome anyway. It’s okay if the MC (main character) never got what he wanted or has to let go of something he didn’t want to part with. It hurts, but it’s real. The conflicting emotions make the story more relatable.

In for this one.

14. Plot Points That Only Converge at the End

Oh, this one is so satisfying. In, please.

15. Detailed Magic Systems

You lost me at detailed. Out, for the same reason as the multi-generational sagas one.

16. Classic Fantasy Races

In. We need more of these.

17. Unreliable Narrators

In. Because.

18. Evil Protagonists

Better than morally grey, from a discerning reader’s perspective. But I’m not one (IT’S A JOKE), and I particularly enjoy reading from morally grey characters…to a limit. It can go overboard.

But evil? Maybe. I’m not sure. Make it clear. In-N-Out.

19. The Chosen One

In. I haven’t seen this particular one much, compared to most of the people who have an aversion to this. I’d like to see it more out of plain curiosity. (I’m sorry-)

20. When the Protagonist Dies

IN. I thought about it recently and how riveting it would be. I sound evil in saying that, but please. Not all protagonists are noble, self-sacrificing warriors. And sometimes they are. There are times when it’s better this way.

21. Really Long Chapters

In-N-Out because I like a mix of both. I read books at night and like finishing a chapter to claim to accomplish something before bidding the day goodbye, but it depends on my mood. And, apparently, the time of day.

22. French Flaps

Well, the name doesn’t give you much, does it?

*Google search* Oh, I see. I find those things incredibly irritating, but how come no one told me to remove them before reading? So much pain could’ve been avoided… :’)

In-N-Out because it looks pretty sometimes.

23. Deckled Edges

Annoying. No thanks. Out.

24. Signed Copies by the Author

The author already left his imprint through the words, and what would a book be without its beautifully strung words?

But sure. I certainly wouldn’t refuse one, but if it costs more, I’d have to turn it down. In-N-Out.

25. Dog-Earring Pages

“FBI, OPEN UP.”

Out. Completely and irrevocably.

26. Chapter Titles Instead of Numbers

Um, sure. The numbers are helpful, though, and very much appreciated. In-N-Out.


Thank you for reading! Oh, hold up, it was my 1st anniversary some time ago.

Happy birthday to this blog, then. And apologies to the people reading this. I’m still finding my footing as a blogger and writer in general but am very grateful to whoever shows support, even in this site’s underdeveloped state. Many thanks!

Congrats, you’ve reached the end.

What would you have answered differently? What book crimes have you committed? Do you agree that dog-earring is a crime?

Author: ☁ Breanna ☁

(If I commented on your post at a suspiciously early/late time, it's because I live far, far away.) Greetings and salutations. 'Tis I, Breanna! I am a homeschooled Christian teen whose heart is bursting with praises to her almighty King. I hope your day is going fine and dandy. If it is or isn't, I'd recommend visiting my blog for a laugh or possible new learnings. But beware, no grouches allowed! I love art, books, baking and cooking, school (who doesn't?!), family, Jesus, and meeting new people (hint hint!). Please stop by. In reading this, you know me but not I to you! THE CURIOSITY IS TORTURE!

5 thoughts on “The In Or Out Book Tag”

  1. Finally, somebody who agrees with me about deckled edges! I feel vindicated. Bravo figuring out the exact order and linking of the snurching process; I was too lazy and too unconfident in my own abilities to even try. πŸ˜‚ Also, congratulations on the blog anniversary! You’ve been in the blogosphere for a whole year? How did you not lose your mind?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I feel it’s a given. How am I supposed to enjoy a book if my fingers can’t even flip to the next page? So frustrating. Yes, but you do know you could have just copy-pasted Kate’s comment and changed β€œI” to β€œshe” or something. I understand, though; the clicks can be exhausting and unnecessary if someone else already did the work. πŸ˜† It’s crazy, I know. And who’s to say I didn’t? πŸ˜‚ After my first post, I admit to taking a four-month break, so perhaps I have yet to lose my wits.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. The page flip is precisely why deckled edges drive me batty. Half of the fun of a book is rifling through it, and you can’t do that when it just won’t rifle. I suppose that’s true about the comment…yet the easy way was just so appealing. Besides, she worded it so well, however could I change it, even a little? Y’know what, I guess I’ll have to take that back. You might be crazy after all, especially after hanging around basket cases like myself. I’ve been told I’m a very good bad example. πŸ˜‚

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Well, then, you’re not alone. Oh, right, paraphrasing. Forgot about that. πŸ˜› Whacked the nail on the head, Miss Texan! But, in both of our defenses, I have yet to interact with a normal person in the entirety of this blogosphere.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started