*Bookish Rant* The Land of Stories: The Wishing Spell

Alternative titles: “Bookish Rant: Children’s Books”; “Bookish Rant: Comparing and Contrasting The Name of This Book Is Secret and The Land of Stories: The Wishing Well”
The first was too vague, and the second was too lengthy, so you have this instead.

Reading Time:

5 minutes
courtesy: me

Book Haul!

Last Sunday, I acquired a copy of The Land of Stories: The Wishing Spell. (I had to consciously type each word for “spell” since I initially misread it as “well” when I picked it up. Ugh, that’s the first of two times this week! My eyes are failing me!)

I was rather giddy with my buy. It had been a while since I bought a book, and though I’d said I was getting back into reading, that’s about how far I’d come to doing it. But in my hands was a tangible book with a story inside, eagerly waiting to draw me in.

Added to that was that I’d seen it on Amazon prior and wished for it to be something I could get one day. I don’t recall why exactly; it came as a recommendation from this other book I was fantasizing about, and the cover was pretty. But since Amazon is Amazon and I’m an overseas child with no income, I expected it to be no more than a dream.

Truth be told, reading the blurb threw me off a bit. It seemed—oh, what’s the word—clichÃĐd and dry, like an empty well. (I thought I was going somewhere with that, but it’s coming off as corny now. Spell not well. Spell not well.)

I’m too tired to find the Amazon version, so here’s the synopsis from the back of my book.

ALEX AND CONNER BAILEY’S WORLD IS ABOUT TO CHANGE. When the twins’ grandmother gives them a treasured fairy-tale book, they have no idea they’re about to enter a land beyond all imagining: the Land of Stories, where fairy tales are real.

Mmhm.

Perhaps that’s what convinced me—seeing the book prior. Don’t kill me, but I’ll admit I’m accustomed to entering a bookstore and leaving empty-handed due to fear of disappointment. There are so many smutty, unrealistic, sloppy books out there, and I am scared. What if I morph into the unholy-type children the media love to portray? What if I become a fist-banging, whining, demanding monster of a child who grows but never matures and turns into a twenty-year-old who falls in love with a vampire?!

(I’ve never read Twilight, by the way.)

“You’re overreacting, Breanna.” “You’re being dramatic, Breanna.” Nope. Nuh-uh. Mhm-mhm. Micro-influences like these are what make and break us.

What was I saying? Oh, yeah. So, I got the book and began devouring it in the car. The first chapter was intriguing. Fresh. I then gave up since reading in a moving vehicle is not my forte.

At home, I continued, even annotating it because I wanted to feel bookish. (Yes, I write in my books. Again, please don’t kill me!)

Here are my issues with it.

My, that was quick, wasn’t it?

1. The contemporary scenes at the start fall flat.

This is why I’d be a terrible book reviewer. It’s a gut feeling; it was missing something, yet I can’t figure out what.

The first one was exceptional but lacking. The rest? Worse.

Also, my current favorite genre is contemporary fiction, so maybe I’m especially critical of anything under its umbrella. Who knows?

2. The sympathy the author tried to induce in the readers wasn’t working.

I could get Snow White and even appreciated the new light shed on her and her situation, especially the “reality” she faced after her happily ever after. But *SPOILER* the Bailey’s dad dying? Not so. *SPOILER ENDED*

Or maybe I’m a heartless monster.

3. The less-than-acceptable morals were too much for a children’s book.

Let’s see: drinking, normalized half-nudity, manipulation, and trusting strangers are at least half of what I saw. I may be judging too hard or screwing my religious cap on too tight, but come on.

In its defense, the Little, Brown, and Company publishing house does tend to let these things slide, speaking from the six books I have from it. Five of six are part of The Secret Series, my favorite pentalogy, which was also aimed toward a younger audience but exceeded expectations. And you know what that series had that the Land of Stories didn’t? A lot of things, but one is an absurd, bonkers opening. The energy was relatively the same throughout the book. Though some parts were less thrilling than others, I was kept on my toes.

But the styles, message, and basic story contrast each other so intensely that it’s improper to compare them. Then again, starting The Land of Stories felt like rereading a book, and The Secret Series was so wacky you never know what came next. Ack, there I go again!

4. I couldn’t imagine it.

Wait for it. Wait for it.

“Sounds like a you problem.” There it is.

Now, this one has a definitive issue. The author was too caught up in technicalities. “So and so had dark hair.” “So and so had light hair.” “The forest had a lot of trees, and the peaks were really sharp.”

The descriptions of locations, people, and objects outbalanced how the features related to the main plot, conflict, and storyline. Is it just me who finds it difficult to process or care? My eyes skip over that and search for the integral details. When it gets too much, I get exhausted.


Thank you for reading!

This is actually an experiment. I like viewing other blogger’s reviews, but that’s with the knowledge I’ll probably never get what they’re reviewing. I’ll see how you guys take this.

What? I’m controlled by my hyperfixations. And in the book’s defense, I finished 300+ pages of it in one day.

Don’t take this too seriously since I’m not done with it yet. It has good points— like easy-to-understand, straightforward writing—but my reviews usually focus on the unflattering points. I’m not sure why, but that’s how I roll.

Now I’m done. Thanks for reading!

Author: ☁ Breanna ☁

(If I commented on your post at a suspiciously early/late time, it's because I live far, far away.) Greetings and salutations. 'Tis I, Breanna! I am a homeschooled Christian teen whose heart is bursting with praises to her almighty King. I hope your day is going fine and dandy. If it is or isn't, I'd recommend visiting my blog for a laugh or possible new learnings. But beware, no grouches allowed! I love art, books, baking and cooking, school (who doesn't?!), family, Jesus, and meeting new people (hint hint!). Please stop by. In reading this, you know me but not I to you! THE CURIOSITY IS TORTURE!

8 thoughts on “*Bookish Rant* The Land of Stories: The Wishing Spell”

  1. It took one innocent-looking book with surprise smut in it for me to be too scared to pick up anything new ever again. The title is long since forgotten, but the trauma remains. 😂 I’ve never heard of this one in my life, but it’s been way too long since I’ve read somebody else’s story instead of my own (if I never reread Reciprocity again, it’ll be too soon), and I always like to see how people can spin old classics like fairytales. I may check it out…or I may wait for your ninety-page dissertation on it so I can judge all the pros and cons without ever cracking it open.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Stop it; you’re heightening my anxiety! But thanks for putting that in. This might be the final time I’ll pick up a book so spontaneously, but if ever anything overcomes me to do so, I’ll stick to middle grade. I’m enjoying my youth if anyone asks. That’s when you know the trauma’s deep-set, you laugh about it…I think. Can’t relate. But what’d you do about it—burn it? Ah, Reciprocity. You know, I was tempted to read over it a million times but was afraid of getting caught because that would be weird. Reading a book for pleasure? Pssh. Do what you’d like, but I’d suggest waiting for my essay on the other series mentioned here, so it’s one trip to the bookstore. How’d you know I was considering doing that? It would be four hundred eighty pages of me rewriting it and tweaking everything the author could’ve done better. However, I have neither the skill, the audacity, nor the patience, but I’m flattered you think I could.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Oops. Well, a little heightened anxiety never hurt anybody. I apologize in advance if my tragic past has deterred you from ever reading another new book again. I can’t quite recall what happened to that book, but it definitely went away. It probably ended up at Goodwill, where it was purchased and subsequently eaten by someone’s pit bull. Heck, if you want to print out Reciprocity and paper your walls with it, you go right ahead. I mean, that would be weird and kind of serial killer-y, but you do you. I’m convinced; I’ll sit back and wait for that essay so I can enter the bookstore armed and dangerous. I know because, like every book lover and writer out there, you undoubtedly have that inexorable urge to mentally edit and analyze every word that passes before your eyeballs. We all do it. I’d probably read four hundred eighty pages of it, too.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. The thing had it coming. That’s very Texas Lass-y, suggesting something and immediately calling it odd, as if she weren’t the one to think it up. But you gave me an idea: I’ll practice bookbinding with it and add it to the list I consumed this year. It’ll even receive take the coveted title of shortlisted favorites. By the way, I’m not very happy with the effect that darned book has had on me. During the three-day camp, I initially thought I couldn’t possibly sniff out a romance for research purposes, but 45 minutes seemed adequate for you-know-who-I’m-referring-to. Ultimately, I didn’t find one, but I’ve counted it as a possibility, and ugh! I’m becoming a hopeless delusional. A while back, I didn’t even think I liked romances. Four hundred eighty pages of a sorry excuse for a novel. *I* wanted four hundred and eighty pages of Reciprocity, so you’re not getting whatever it is I didn’t sign up for.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. I just feel sorry for the pit bull. If I wasn’t the way I was, I wouldn’t be much at all, so I’ll keep suggesting things and immediately criticizing them. And sure, why not? I don’t know the first thing about bookbinding, but a quick google search makes it look both terrifying and overwhelmingly complicated, so I’m sure you’ll have fun. See, you’re just looking for 45-minute romance in the wrong places. Next time try a zombie-infested city, and I guarantee a love interest will magically appear. Don’t worry…knowing my brain, Reciprocity will probably get a four hundred page sequel one of these days. It’s not like I have anything else to write.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I think I actually read this book for a blog post a few years ago but tbh it was very forgettable and I didn’t enjoy it all that much…I think maybe I was just too old for it?
    I enjoyed seeing your thoughts on it though!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. With your impeccable taste, you might’ve liked it had it been executed more favorably, old age or not. There are a truckload of things the author could’ve written better, but it’s his first novel, so we should cut him some slack. The idea was intriguing, but the plot was too quick-paced and carried more than it could handle.
      Thanks, Diamond! (By the way, I hope my email reply finds you well! ;))

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started