Dipping My Toe in the mAiNsTrEaM bOoK gEnRe

Scratch that, I’m dipping my toe in mainstream books in general. Join me on another episode of, “Is what everyone’s saying legit, or has the world’s population been brainwashed, and I was left out?” Plus, I haven’t gotten to reading them yet, so this is me making guesses about what to expect.

written: 9/19/2023

Finished: 9/21/2023

(Okay, so perhaps bloggers don’t quite plan their burn-outs, so when their energy is drained, there’s none left to work up an announcement that they can’t badger their readers for a while. Expect this to happen more often. But I’ll be back to my regular schedule by the following week…probably. Unless life throws some curveballs.)

Romance.

Is.

Scary.

But it wasn’t enough to stop me from giving it a chance. Wait, wait, wait! I haven’t read one yet. I couldn’t think of doing so without informing you. Me? Never!

O-kay. Sure, but why?

Well, first of all, remember that retelling I posted about? Something about Swans in Lakes? (It’s this one.) Yeah. I forgot about it, too.

Then a friend reminded me of it, and I gathered the courage to show it to her, and guess what? She wasn’t utterly disgusted or horrified, and neither was I! You see, it had been months since I last updated my doc, which is enough for my goldfish memory to recall its existence yet not the contents.

And you know what they sayβ€”you’ve got to read it to write it!

No one says that? Then we improvise. I said it, and therefore, you shall. We’ll make it a thing. Take the world by metaphorical storm.

Second, I am desperate to get my hands on a new book. A thrift book even, though I don’t go out and therefore cannot gauge if secondhand book shops are nearby. However, I am taking my sweet time with A Christmas Carol, which is so much a masterpiece I couldn’t wait for Christmas, but I do desire, nopeβ€”crave, noβ€”need a contemporary romance. One. Just one. But if there’s more, don’t mind if I do!

Lastly, I have a confessionβ€”but don’t tell anyone! You take it TO THE GRAVE, you hear?

*whisper* I’m a sucker for rom-coms. You’ve Got Mail, The American President, and uhm, Breanna Can’t Think of Anything Else at the Moment, But Rest Assured She Know Others. Etcetera. (And any explicit content was forwarded; don’t you worry. It seems Hollywood wasn’t made for kids. Who would’ve thought?)

Anyway, two books I’ve awaitedβ€”Better Than the Movies by Lyn Painter and Caraval by Stephanie Garberβ€”are nearly in my possession. The first has been flooding my (mom’s) Instagram FYP, and the second was a recommendation from a close friend, who I’m hoping has stupendous book taste. Fingers crossed.

I’d initially planned on getting them as ebooks, but plans are rarely followed through, so that’s not happening anymore. However, I did prepare myself by reading their Google previews, which is where this post comes in.

Here, I shall list at least 3 assumptions about how much I’ll like both and what each will include. Starting with…

~Better Than the Movies by Lynn Painter

  • Young Adult, 13+
  • Contemporary Romance
  • Enemies-to-Lovers
  • Fake Dating
  • Pop Culture References

CW (from research): swearing, drinking, underage smoking, diSoBeDiEnCe towards father, lying, and-

Yup, I figured it out. Goodreads, you are a gem.

-“Oh, my gosh! There’s kissing on the cover!”

No poop, Sherlock. But actually, (*DING DING DING* HOLIER-THAN-THOU ATTITUDE ALERT) I was slightly put off by that fact alone. What? Lip-y stuff is for married couples, thanks very much.

Personal conviction.

Then again, book characters aren’t real. You know what? I don’t know anymore, but for the living, breathing, you-have-a-life-outside-someone’s-imagination, you know where I stand.

I am happy to state I correctly guessed one couple on the cover. That mean girl from Mean Girls who’s also in the Doctor Strange movies and Ryan Gosling from The Notebook, right? Don’t answer; I already know. (I watched the movie and don’t remember there being a notebook. Forgive me.)

Hey, no fair! Those two in the top left corner whose heads are cropped out are Emma Stone and Ryan Gosling in La La Land. He gets two, and you don’t even include a Tom Hanks?!

Kidding! I think.

Assumption #1

I’m very much going to enjoy the author’s writing style. I’d merely read a few pages, reminding myself that my cheapness would always override my desire for some book.

Well. It didn’t last long.

Where are my manners? You’re probably in the dark and wondering what in the world I’m blabbing about. Here’s the synopsis:

In this rom-com about rom-coms, in the spirit of Kasie West and Jenn Bennett, a hopeless romantic teen attempts to secure a happily-ever-after moment with her forever crush, but finds herself reluctantly drawn to the boy next door.

Perpetual daydreamer Liz Buxbaum gave her heart to Michael a long time ago. But her cool, aloof forever crush never really saw her before he moved away. Now that he’s back in town, Liz will do whatever it takes to get on his radar – and maybe snag him as a prom date – even befriend Wes Bennet.

The annoyingly attractive next-door neighbor might seem like a prime candidate for romantic-comedy fantasies, but Wes has only been a pain in Liz’s butt since they were kids. Pranks involving frogs and decapitated lawn gnomes do not a potential boyfriend make. Yet, somehow, Wes and Michael are hitting it off, which means Wes is Liz’s in.

But as Liz and Wes scheme to get Liz noticed by Michael so she can have her magical prom moment, she’s shocked to discover that she likes being around Wes. And as they continue to grow closer, she must reexamine everything she thought she knew about love – and rethink her own ideas of what happily ever after should look like.

Lynn Painter (Goodreads), published May 4, 2021

There will be Meg Ryan references; I’m nearly 93.33% sure. But I’m 100% certain of the Taylor Swift ones, which will make my heart plump and full of joy after recognizing more than three songs. (Even after a friend accused me of being a fake swiftie. The gall. Cornelia Street forever. )

✨LoVeRrR✨

Assumption #2

I don’t want to be all sunshine and rainbows, expecting all that’s good to erupt from this novel, so let me take a jab at it: As with most stories, no matter how the author tries to justify it, I won’t understand why Liz would go to such great lengths for a guy she doesn’t plan to settle down with.

There. But I’ll be happy to be proven wrong.

Assumption #3

Since we were still in Liz’s POV by chapter two, it’s safe to suppose this novel will succeed where not many romances doβ€”presenting a likable female main character.

More often than not, male leads overshadow their counterparts, which is understandable. Those slaving behind a laptop are usually ladies with a draw toward men who can both annoy and endear with a mask of I-told-you-so that melts away because of raw concern toward the girl they loved all along.

This is a childhood-enemies-to-lovers, fake dating one, you guys. Brace yourselves.

Assumption #4

He’ll fall first.

I think my searching skills should be monitored. I’m just that good. Somehow, I discovered it from somewhere, and though the source slipped my mind, what happened didn’t. How rude.

I’ll have known either way, but I’m irked about it. Hmph.

Final Notes

I saw from a review stating another review that someone thought Wes was bland and like every other YA love interest. It was countered, but I don’t remember how, so my mood was soured.

Also, help me. A pdf doc exposed the ending, and I couldn’t stop myself when I’d started. I’m angry at my lack of self-control, but oh, well.

Our solution: the middle plot should blow me away.


I’m listening to my daily dose of Tayluh while I write this. I’m not sure why I told you that, but you’re not my friend until I shove music recommendations down your throat and passive-aggressively force you to like them.


Anyway.

~Caraval

  • Young Adult, 13+
  • High Fantasy
  • Romance (subplots, including Enemies-to-Lovers, from what I’ve heard)
  • Adventure & Mystery
  • Magic

CW: I’m too lazy to search.

*angelic music in the background because of the high-quality picture*

So, it’s not contemporary, contradicting what I said in the opening. But it’s fine. Being fantasy, this is better practice than Better Than the Movies for my Swan Lake thingymajig, anyway.

I know less about Caraval than the first. I’m traversing unknown territory here, people. Which is good! Suspense and all.

This one isn’t an underrated bookβ€”Some say it’s overrated!β€”so, discovering snippets of it and finding fans raving here and there was unavoidable.

A legendary competition.
A mesmerizing romance.
An unbreakable bond
between two sisters.

Scarlett Dragna has never left the tiny island where she and her sister, Tella, live with their powerful, and cruel, father. Now Scarlett’s father has arranged a marriage for her, and Scarlett thinks her dreams of seeing Caravalβ€”the faraway, once-a-year performance where the audience participates in the showβ€”are over.

But this year, Scarlett’s long-dreamt-of invitation finally arrives. With the help of a mysterious sailor, Tella whisks Scarlett away to the show. Only, as soon as they arrive, Tella is kidnapped by Caraval’s mastermind organizer, Legend. It turns out that this season’s Caraval revolves around Tella, and whoever finds her first is the winner.

Scarlett has been told that everything that happens during Caraval is only an elaborate performance. Nevertheless she becomes enmeshed in a game of love, heartbreak, and magic. And whether Caraval is real or not, Scarlett must find Tella before the five nights of the game are over or a dangerous domino effect of consequences will be set off, and her beloved sister will disappear forever.

Welcome, welcome to Caraval . . . beware of getting swept too far away.

Stephanie Garber (Goodreads), published September 29, 2016 (A bit of an old one, I see.)

Assumption #1

There will be a guy named Jack with floofy hair. I’m taking my shot and saying he’s the enemy-turned-lover. It’s loaded, but I have no explanation.

Assumption #2

I won’t like Scarlett that much. I didn’t finish the preview, but I saw enough to conclude she’s the goody-two-shoes who has a better reputation than her sister yet lacks stable morals when validation from higher-upsβ€”in this case, her fatherβ€”is stripped from her. Also loaded. My explanation? Middle child gut feelz.

If this is wrong, it’ll be embarrassing on my part, but whatever.

Assumption #3

The author set the set-up up to make Julian, the guy Tella manipulates into aiding her and her sister to escape 🏝the island🏝, seem like a fleeting characterβ€”at least, for me, it felt like thatβ€”but I’m not that gullible.

Shh, let me believe my lies.

But nice try, author.

He’ll probably stay forβ€”uhβ€”longer than we’ll think he’s stay, which is not vague. Yup.

Final Notes

Like I said, I’m crossing a bridge, and I don’t know what awaits, which is both nerve-racking and thrilling, so EEEE. (read: girlish squeal)


Thanks for reading!

Fun fact: this was supposed to be a very light post. Something to welcome you back to my blog. Then, my perfectionist took over, and here we are.

How are you all? And how many colons did you count from the entire post?

Author: ☁ Breanna ☁

(If I commented on your post at a suspiciously early/late time, it's because I live far, far away.) Greetings and salutations. 'Tis I, Breanna! I am a homeschooled Christian teen whose heart is bursting with praises to her almighty King. I hope your day is going fine and dandy. If it is or isn't, I'd recommend visiting my blog for a laugh or possible new learnings. But beware, no grouches allowed! I love art, books, baking and cooking, school (who doesn't?!), family, Jesus, and meeting new people (hint hint!). Please stop by. In reading this, you know me but not I to you! THE CURIOSITY IS TORTURE!

15 thoughts on “Dipping My Toe in the mAiNsTrEaM bOoK gEnRe”

  1. OOOH, read 100 days of Sunlight by Abbie Emmons (if you haven’t) it’s my go-to contemporary romance book 🌻 it’s very light hearted and poignant, I’m sure you’ll love it!
    omg daylight is GORGEOUS 😍, so is Cornelia street and so is every single Swift song πŸ¦‹
    I’ve been meaning to read caraval for some time now, but, um exams-
    Love this posttt❀️

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Oooh, I’ve heard of that one before. Your comment was the final nudge I needed, so I’m adding it to my TBR. Tyyy!
      So true! I used to only listen to Lover because of my die-hard swiftie cousin’s influence, but then a friend introduced me to folklore and evermore, I found reputation, Red (Taylor’s Version), and Speak Now (Taylor’s Version), and I just fell in love . πŸ˜©πŸ¦‹
      Haha, for real. 😭 Survive, okay?
      -from your homeschooled friend who only half-relates πŸ’Œ

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yayy!! Tell me how you like it!
        Ohmygosh. I relate TOO MUCH. I had like, 3-4 songs of Taylor that I used to listen for months together, but then when I discovered the others, I was blown away. Which is ur fav album btw?
        Damn, sometimes I just wish I could take sime days off school and study in my house, yk!!
        Lots of lovee🌻

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Hey, I have a character named Jack with floofy hair! I am pleased to see that you, like myself, do not merely read books, but instead READ them. You’ve got a battle plan all figured out for both of these, don’t you? You’ve made them sound so intriguing I might have to check them out myself. As long as they don’t hinge on the typical “vague misunderstanding that could be cleared up in five minutes but instead fuels the whole plot” trope that romances have so often, I will have no complaints. (And I take offense at the implication that female authors spend more time fleshing out the male love interests, because I certainly didn’t have to go back and rewrite parts of Reciprocity that were sheer, unnecessary Adam Appreciation.)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Well, uhβ€”too bad. That’s the only acceptable way to read, isn’t it? Exactly it, a battle plan including DNFing if I don’t like it by page 10 and/or taking notes on what and what not to imitate, which would be full of myself, considering I’m not even a published author, but so what? Oosh, I’ll keep my eyes peeled for that and let you know. (I offended myself, too, coz I relished every second of the unsolicited-that-was-actually-solicited Adam Appreciation. But at least you didn’t accentuate his height, shoulders, and handsomeness every, what, 2 or so pages because that crosses from enjoyable to frustrating by the fourth page. Also another unlikeable romance book trait.)

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I hear that some people actually just pick up a book and start reading it, but I don’t think they exist. They couldn’t, surely; they’d be too disorganized to survive. No shame in taking notes, of course. I do that with all the media I consume, whether books or TV or video games. Like they say, good artists copy, great artists steal, so I’m just doing my part to keep the tradition alive. I think I’ll let you take the first dive into those books, so you can report back if that goofy trope is in there anywhere. (Say, I should go back and do that, but make sure he gets taller by a couple inches every time I mention it. I’ll see if anyone catches on by the time the book ends and he’s seven-foot-six.)

        Liked by 1 person

  3. *squeals because I love both of these books*

    I hope you love both of these books! I certainly do. I think you’ve got a good chance at liking both of them, though I can’t blame you for being a bit apprehensive about a lot of mainstream books. (I get annoyed at some of the choices characters make in books sometimes…) However, I do think you’ve got a good chance at liking BTTM because you like rom-coms and then Caraval is just one of my favorites so I do hope you love it.

    Your assumptions were fun to read! *zips lips* we shall see how they turn out. I’d love to see a follow-up once you finish these two books!

    Also…TAYLOR! Lover is such a great album. ❀ One of my favorites. (though Midnights is becoming a favorite and Red has the nostalgia going for it…)

    And why is it that I didn't realize Better Than The Movies had couples from rom-coms on the cover? Not that I'd know any of them. I appreciate you sharing who the two couples at the top and bottom are supposed to be…wonder who the others are? I think I can figure out the dancing one, but the boombox? the snow? idk…

    Anyway, that's enough from me. *debates on whether or not to buy a copy of Better Than The Movies to have on my shelf*

    Liked by 2 people

    1. *squeals with you because BTTM was such a spectacular read*

      Sorry for the late reply, but it seems you were right about BTTM. Hooray! You say Caraval earned its place as a favorite book of yours? Consider me sold. I’ll be starting that in a bit and now have extremely high hopes. 🀞

      HAHA That we shall! Hey, that’s a fantastic suggestion coz I was thinking of doing a full-blown review, but I’m still sorting out my thoughts on it, so I’ll take you up on that. Erm, ignore the coming post.

      Taylor indeed! ❀ Hah, so relatable of you. All her songs are masterpieces, and narrowing a favorite album done to one is quite the feat!

      You know, I’m fairly sure I saw a Pinterest post about that. *digs through pins to find it* Aha, found it! https://pin.it/6WREeTn The one where the guy’s lifting the girl is from “Dirty Dancing”, the snow one is “Bridget Jone’s Diary,” and the boombox one is “Say Anything.” OH MY GOODNESS, REVELATION: It’s Wes and Liz, but them recreating scenes from said movies. I was wondering why the girl was always a redhead!

      Hmm, you do you, but the hardcover is pretty, and I’m pretty sure you like those. I dunno. πŸ˜‰

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’m so glad you liked it!

        Now I’m excited to see what you think of Caraval…(unless you hate it….xD)

        And yay! I’m excited to see that post.

        xD.

        Oh cool! I knew the “Dirty Dancing” one, but I’d never heard of the other two movies. AND YES! I love that they recreated the movie scenes for the cover. Now I’m wondering what the cover for book 2 will look like!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Your wish is my command! The update is in the works. But I should probably read the book first to see. πŸ˜†

        Nothing less than spectacular, I’m sure. I heard all the fans wishing it’d come sooner in the Goodreads comments for it. I might as well join them in their whining because the wait till “Fall 2024” will be long and torturous. 😫

        Liked by 1 person

      3. By the way, Diamond, did you ever read “Better than the Party,” the free eBook with Wes’s POV of the prom party and the events after? Tell me how it is if you have!

        Also, *SPOILER ALERT for anyone reading this who hasn’t seen the book* is it absolutely horrific of me to ship Joss and Noah? I saw the clashβ€”dare I say, chemistryβ€”between them, and I enjoyed Joss as a character and wish she found her own HEA. Is it wrong of me?!

        Liked by 1 person

      4. I’m pretty sure I did read it! It was fine, though if I recall correctly there was a lot of language in it…

        I mean, I guess I don’t really remember those two characters but why not? Side character shipping is fun.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started