Monthly Wrap-Up: October 2023

The author reflects on a challenging, yet enjoyable October with events like multiple birthdays, sickness, strenuous activity, and sporadic writing. She discuss their long-term engagement with ballet, which, while demanding, has provided a vibrant social community. She’s currently working on a novel-length draft of Swan Lake, despite self-doubt and new experiences in writing. She also mentions dabbling in fanfiction and their recent inclusion in Goodreads. She promises more consistent posting in the future. ~AI, coz I’m lazy.

Wait, it’s November?!

Me, rushing to catch up with time:

My October consisted of an aching back & sore leg muscles, doctor visits, getting sick, celebrating one too many birthdays (Objectively, two is too much.), and bouts with my fleeting bursts of writing inspiration.

And you already know I haven’t been consistent with posting, so there’s that. :’D

But you know what? October was a great month. I enjoyed it. I might even be coaxed into doing it over again.

Imposter Syndrome

Ballet

As with most things, dancing with grace and poise (and turnout and core strength and strong legs and back flexibility and-) requires the cultivation of time and dedication. And don’t forget not only accepting that your feet will undergo irreversible changes but actively choosing that path. GremlinToes4Evah.

Ballet is a process, they say. You won’t see immediate changes, they say. It’s true, and I believe it. But, when doing it, you tend to question if you’ve been going about it wrong all along. Worse yet, if the issue is within you.

But that’s just me overthinking.

I’ve been doing ballet for a considerable amount of my life, and a possible contributing factor to why (WHY?!) I still do it is my not having stopped yet.

Yep, so I still do it because I did. Don’t question my logic.

Fun fact: a universal ballet rule is that the student must be silenced for chatting loudly with fellow classmates. Must! If you thought ballerinas were dainty creaturesβ€”shy, polite, and quietβ€”rethink that. Because the extrovert within us is unleashed during ✨ballet class.✨ (More accurately, time before and/or between ballet classes, but bear with me.)

I’m going to be dangerously honest and admit that my past community of budding ballerinas was relatively toxic. As toxic as 8-year-olds can go, which is quite far, believe me. I dreaded going to class every Saturday. But the same community plus a pandemic later, nearly everyone is getting along. With newcomers, too! I wouldn’t trade conversations with people who choose to torture themselves weekly (even daily for some) for a taco.

But multiple tacos? 😬 I’ll get back to you on that one.

(Shhh, secret info, but we student ballerinas don’t all choose this hobby. Ha, “hobby.” As if ballet isn’t 24/7. But I digress. Our parents choose it for us, and we stick with it because the gym and other sports are too easy. You didn’t hear that from me.)

Writing

Swan Lake~

I keep sporadically mentioning this, but I’m still working on Swan Lake. I, uh, wait. I’m aiming for novel length, and I’ve never done that before, so this is all *snort* novel to me.

Oh, gosh. That was terrible humor.

Anyway, is it normal to hit 10K words after 8 *cough* inconsistent *cough* months? Probably not, and that’s okay. I think. I hope.

I’m only on the first draft and wish I could change so much already. But I can’t! I can’t make that mistake! Not with everything I’ve heard about it. And *sigh* I’d rather be safe than sorry.

That Writer Friend

I thought my retelling journey would be a one-person job, but apparently not! I met a writer friend earlier this year with a love for Greek mythology and a familiarity with fairy tales. We’ve grown so close I’ve gone as far as showing her my messy Swan Lake first draft doc file. (Not normal. This is not normal, people.) First draft. I know, crazy. But I’m not a published author; there can’t possibly be risks with that.

She’s provided immense support and even made a work based on it. She recently told me how she loves my pieces, which include a few short stories I gathered the courage to share, and joked that I was her favorite author.

And she shared a part of SL with her mom!

What is this magical feeling?!

It’s suddenly all worth it.

Oh, Woe!

I read a translated short story set in Russia for Lit and was utterly disappointed with myself. I thought I was a genius when picking names for my characters, but those in my Russian ballet-inspired draft were the same as those in the story. My β€œcreative” names were completely generic.

Blast my lack of knowledge with Russian anything! *kicks chair*

Fanfiction Mention

I should modify the heading; instead of “Writing,” why not “Swan Lake Rants”? (Ooh, an uncreative title. Write that down!) But to avoid that, I’ll add something else: I have these two contemporary fanfictions I’m so darn proud of, despite not having drafted them yet. Writing outside of YA is so fun because you’re a child and have these unrealistic views of how having an occupation works. The prospects? Endless!

Info Dump

I’m not a plotter. However, I do organize and write down usable information. Or perhaps unusable. The opportunity to insert a character’s height down to the centimeter has yet to present itself. That means I’m not a pantser, either. What even am I?

Speaking of which, you know those moments where you wonder why you write? My SL novel is a fantasy for a younger audience with a sweet, lowkey romance and a quirky narrator. Doubtless, someone’s written something similar and executed it lightyears better than me.

Then you get encouragement from kind souls (with superb taste), as mentioned above, and you realize…

Maybe there is a story only I can tell. Something unique. Something someone will love. They’ll pick up my book with low expectations, perhaps never before having heard of it, and then they’re whisked away. And when they return from the perilous journey, they clutch the book close to their chest, bug-eyed and magic-drunk, and mutter, “I want to do that again.”

Music

We’re still under the writing subheading. Whew!

I have this Spotify playlist with Old Disney songs with romantic and magical vibes, choice numbers from Swan Lake, a song from Anastasia, the ballroom background music from the Cinderella live-action remake, and “Over the Rainbow” by Judy Garlandβ€”not quite in that order.

During the dead hours when I’m sitting quietly, maladaptive daydreaming and all (which wasn’t diagnosed, but I fit the symptoms *sweats*), turning on this playlist is sure to boost the fairy tale & “I’m on Cloud Nine!” feels, and I couldn’t be more thankful. But who to thank? Spotify? Disney? Music? Let’s go with myself for making the playlist. *kisses mirror*

WARNING: The author in no way promotes narcissism to this extreme. Do not try this at home.

The four I keep coming back to:

Lea Salonga!!! ❀
Special mention because of the perfect royal romance feels~

Mid Goodreads

This grandma got a Goodreads account!

I’m clueless about adding friends, joining groups, and following someone, but I love seeing my reads in one place. And nearly everything is on there! Nearly. This Changes Everything by Jacquelle Crow, where? Where?!

I wanna pull a card on you guys and hit you with the “And because of newfound motivation, I finished 7 books this month. Ta-da!”

But nope. Four books are good enough for me. Plus, they were all a pleasure to read. Caraval, Tall Story, Chloe and the Kaishao Boys, & Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland. Oosh, I still have to write that post about Caraval, shouldn’t I?


That’s enough about me.

You can expect more content this month. You can, but should you?

I’m kidding.

I’m getting back into the groove! Welcome, new followers! And to those who’ve stuck around, THANK YOU.

Author: ☁ Breanna ☁

(If I commented on your post at a suspiciously early/late time, it's because I live far, far away.) Greetings and salutations. 'Tis I, Breanna! I am a homeschooled Christian teen whose heart is bursting with praises to her almighty King. I hope your day is going fine and dandy. If it is or isn't, I'd recommend visiting my blog for a laugh or possible new learnings. But beware, no grouches allowed! I love art, books, baking and cooking, school (who doesn't?!), family, Jesus, and meeting new people (hint hint!). Please stop by. In reading this, you know me but not I to you! THE CURIOSITY IS TORTURE!

14 thoughts on “Monthly Wrap-Up: October 2023”

  1. Yay! It was nice to read about your month. It sounds like you’re doing great with your writing! Your Swan Lake retelling sounds awesome and it was so sweet of your friend to say you were her favorite author!
    Congrats on reading 7 books this month!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! Surviving that month was pretty fun, hehe. 😁 Does it? It DOES?? Why, thank you very much! I knowww; writer/reader friends are always super appreciative. Haha, oops! I believe I phrased that wrong. πŸ˜‚ I wish I read 7 books this month, but it was a meager 4. We’re not all like you, Diamond, you book-reading machine, you! πŸ˜‚

      Liked by 1 person

  2. You’re giving me flashbacks to my own brief stint in ballet and now I’m sitting here wondering if that’s why I have foot problems. How dare you. But my goodness, you’ve been busy! You’ve experienced our good friend imposter syndrome, made progress on your story (yes, I am jealous), and most importantly, achieved That Writing Friend that everybody needs. Something about being able to enthuse over your work with someone who truly understands and likes it – unprompted, might I add – is just magical.
    Goodreads, you say? I also have no idea how that site works, which is why I haven’t updated my reading progress on literally anything in months, as I have completely forgotten how. It’s nice seeing somebody else as technologically challenged as I am.
    In regards to the length of Swan Lake, I wouldn’t worry too terribly about it. Just do your best and see how long it ends up when you’re done. I guarantee it’ll get both longer and shorter when you go back for your edits. Stories are pretty good about being the length they need to be once you put in the necessary stuff and take out the unnecessary stuff.
    It’s good to have you back, and a slight miracle to see you still in one piece after all you’ve been dealing with. I look forward to possibly maybe having more content soon, probably.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Have you done everything?! Why, how insensitive of me. But obviously, it’s ballet’s fault for altering our feet’s bone anatomy. I can never wear a sandal confidently again. Or perhaps I will and just not care because who looks at our feet at first glance anyway?
      The things to do just keep multiplying. Yay. Wha- Where is that jealousy coming from? Completely unfounded, because I don’t know have a clue what I’m doing. You’re absolutely right; having That Writing Friend is splendid. What’s the point of adding that clever detail if no one can fawn over my genius with me in the span of time tailored to my impatience?
      Oh, shoot, you’re the first person I followed on there. Blind leading the blind, I guess.
      Phew! That’s actually very reassuring. Thanks! And people weren’t kidding about the dichotomy of writingβ€”you’ve surpassed C.S. Lewis one sitting, the next, you’re imagining yourself as one of those failed writers Hollywood is so eagerly portrays.
      Thank you, thank you. *waves regally* I was missed, I know.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I know, I know. For an introverted homebody, I’m surprisingly well-rounded. I gave up on sandals years ago, and anything open-toed, but that’s mostly because I’m such a clumsy camel of a human being I’m always bashing my feet on hard objects and breaking my toenails. 10/10 would recommend.
        Kinda sucks how life works like that. Just give me five minutes of down time, that’s all I ask. πŸ˜‚ That jealousy comes from me still coasting in my post-Reciprocity depression, of the kind that always comes whenever I finish a project. Look at you over there being productive. Disgusting! That’s the advantage of That Writer Friend, pumping up your ego to unfathomable levels. Don’t worry about Goodreads. Just see what I do and then promptly do the opposite.
        Sure! What am I here for if not to offer dubious advice like I know what I’m talking about? Yeah, that’s the fun part. One day you’re writing the next Lord of the Rings, the next Finnegan’s Wake. The upside of being a failed Hollywood writer is that you’ll meet a handsome bachelor at a coffee shop and fall in love. He will wear a cardigan and vaguely resemble a young Hugh Jackman.
        Yes, yes, you were. And so’s that post you promised on Caraval…πŸ‘€

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Of course it’s okay to write 10K in 8 months! That’s the beautiful thing about writing… we all do it at different paces! It all depends, too, on how much you’ve got going on, and it sounds like ballet keeps you pretty busy! 10K is way better than nothing–which is what most people can boast. πŸ˜‰

    Also… if you enjoyed Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland (or quite frankly, even if you didn’t) I highly, HIGHLY recommend Sara Ella’s The Wonderland Trials and its sequel, The Looking-Glass Illusion (if you haven’t read them yet). Definitely my favorite recent releases!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Discovering I’d hit the 10K mark was huge for me at first, and then I heard about people finishing their novels in 3 months and thought, “Whoops. Guess it wasn’t that much of an accomplishment after all.” But that’s so true, varying writing paces make our journeys unique. Thanks for the encouragement!

      Ooh, you know, I’d heard about it but needed one more push before getting it. And this is perfect timing! I’ve been searching for some more fantasy novels. Eek, thank you so much! I’ll check ’em out. πŸ˜‰

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’m so glad! I’m not usually much of a fantasy reader, but that duology is so whimsical and fun… one of my favorites of this year for sure. And yes, our writing journeys are all so different! Never discount yourself!!

        Liked by 1 person

  4. I remember reading this post a week back, and thinking of many things to say, and then I began thinking about my lack of time which led me to procrastinate this comment.

    I loveeee this wrap up, Breanna (do you have a nickname btw?), I love reading monthly recaps because it just gives me so many ideas on how people spend their days meaningfully, and let me say, you’ve had a satisfying month by the look of it!

    Ooh, I always wanted to talk to someone who does ballet, (it’s not properly taught or learnt where I live) but I’ve been reading all these YA novels in which someone is a ballerina (ballet dancer?) Excuse me utter lack of knowledge on this amazing subject! But I totally get how you feel you know,
    I’ve been learning classical music since I was 6 (mostly because my dad wanted lol) and i only used to go in there twice a week so that I get to go for art classes right afterπŸ˜‚. But then I took a lot of breaks, was convinced music is not for me, then went back to it, did some performances and stuff (I made good friends) and now I’ve left it again.
    But I often catch myself humming a note randomly and realise I do actually like it. (I LOVE MUSIC Music, but here I’m talking about classical) I don’t know honestly, maybe I’ll return to my classes someday.. uhh, so my point being, try to enjoy ballet while you still do it! If you don’t, then try other thingsπŸ˜‚

    AND OMG CONGRATS ON 10K!! THAT’S BEYOND AMAZING😍!! I’m soo proud of youu!!! I’m waiting for Swan Lake to get released!!! (You’ll gimme a signed copy, won’t you?!) I’m telling you, you might feel unmotivated about it, but do not ever give up!!!! You’ve got this!

    DISNEY MUSIC>>>>>>>>>
    okay, now, THAT was a rant. But I loved this post, please make more monthly recaps ( considering there’s only 2 possible for this year haha)
    Niv xoxoxoxo

    P.S. I promise I didn’t go insane. I’m just light-headed from all the revision and binge watchingπŸ™ˆ

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Oh, gosh, this is late, but your comment’s too sweet to not reply to!

      Nickname? Usually Bree or Bre, and occasionally Brea. Any is fine. You can even use them interchangeable if you’d like. But it gets a bit confusing with all the variations of Bree’s around here, don’t you think?

      I usually go by ballerina, but when I’m particularly upset with my performance in class, I say, “I do ballet.” πŸ˜† YA novels with ballerinas, you say? I’m intrigued; shoot me some titles of the good ones! GASP, CLASSICAL MUSIC!!! Are we talking piano, violin, or another instrument because SAME. My dad encourages my sisters and me to learn how to ad lib on the piano, preferably with praise and worship songs, and honestly, I feel my heart in piano more than in ballet. (Despite the darned classical music! πŸ˜‚ Lol, my dad loves music music and classical music, too. Music for the win!) Will I quit either anytime soon? Nope. Thanks for the advice! With the amount of times I’ve cried in those classes and returned the next week, steeled to the torture, I’m too stubborn to back down now. Maybe one day, though!

      THANK YOU SO MUCH, NIV, AAAAAHHHH!!! Of course, I’d get you a signed copy! Once I figure out my signature! πŸ˜­πŸ˜‚ We’ll see about getting released, but I’ll get it out there someway, somehow. πŸ˜‰ Aw, thank you! β™₯

      And Disney music PLUS childhood nostalgia?? This close to perfection. 🀏
      Will do, Niv! I’m taking down that note right now. πŸ“ Tysm for commenting!! πŸ’•

      Liked by 1 person

  5. indubitably ballet is a difficult sport but i staunchly believe that cross country is THE most difficult sport. you haven’t lived till you’ve run kilometer repeats in the rain while your coach criticizes your form as he rides along in his golf cart.
    looks like you’re doing better at writing than I am bc i’ve written approximately…one hundred words in october and november combined? eheh
    i loooove reading monthly recaps so i’ll definitely be back and commenting again soon!
    also sorry if I already commented this exact thing…? wordpress is acting up for me

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I have great respect for cross country-ers. As a ballerina, it would make sense to argue against that, but my toes haven’t bled from pointes, and I haven’t ripped a hamstring, injured my Achilles heel, or fallen flat on my face after a pirouette…yet. But right now, I sympathize with you because I suddenly lost any desire to do cross country.
      Progress is progress! At least, we did anything at all. πŸ˜‚
      Looking forward to it, RJ!! Thanks for commenting! β™₯
      Nah, don’t worry about it. The I-have-to-approve-you-if-it’s-your-first-comment setting can be a bit wonky, but it’s to track and remove those weird non-human comments. 🧐

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started