*Bookish Rant* Elizabeth Lim will pay for my therapy.

5/5 stars, but I’m bitter. The emotional turmoil this put me though is inexcusable. Elizabeth Lim is a force of nature.

I am so mad at Six Crimson Cranes‘s sequel.

This book. This flipping book.

The journey started off well. I’d laughed. I’d squealed. I’d even shed a few tears. But in the end, I was appalled. I sat aghast before the seemingly innocent, colorful cover of The Dragon’s Promise by Elizabeth Lim.

Here’s a replica of the expression I’d made.

aghast

About 50% in, I was beyond sure that this. This would no doubt land in my top 5 favorite pieces of literature. As I’d said in my Goodreads review for Six Crimson Cranes, around 70-80% in, I wished the remaining pages would be a lovely conclusion, tying loose ends in a neat blue bow. I got uneasy when our beloved characters traversed the most dangerous and anticipated territory they’d set foot on and—*peeks at the pages*—supposedly second-to-the-last location, but it wasn’t too dire. I was sure they’d find a way, right? Right?

Oh, ha, never mind. Shiori SPOILER [turns into this moon dweller instead. She meets Imurinya, the moon goddess, and they go all buddy-buddy, along with Kiki.] SPOILER

But actually, SPOILER [When Elizabeth Lim described the final thread of Shiori’s life barely holding on, I’d already conceded. All right, fine, Mrs. Lim, you win! Our main character will die; I’d accepted the fact. Considering the book was in Shiori’s POV, Chapter 45 was just me wondering how it would end. And then the deal happened, and Seryu—that guy I thought would die, whoopsie—saves her life because duh. He disappeared, so he’s got to come back. Cue the realization: The Dragon’s Promise indeed. Boom, I blew your mind.] SPOILER

Rating

I hated this book.

And yet.

And yet.

I loved it. ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐/5. Takkan is a sweetheart. (We readers could’ve done without him and Shiori being all lovey-dovey, kissy-kissy nearing the end, but it’s our one defense against the soul-crushing angst, aside from the SPOILER [sister-in-law & family fluff, and come to think of it, what happened to Qinnia and her tummy?! I need to know!] SPOILER, so we’re fine.)

I finished this in basically 2 1/4 days.

I can’t say the first half was better than the second because both had their own good parts.

Maybe it’s because I’d just finished Twin Crowns, which meant my expectations were on the ground. Or perhaps it’s because Elizabeth Lim’s style grew on me. (I gotta get Spin the Dawn, too, someday. Argh, I saw it at the bookstore; why didn’t I grab it?!) That means when I reread parts of Six Crimson Cranes, I saw its true beauty and enjoyed it for what it was. But . . . should I say it?

I loved the sequel better than the first.

Sure, I wasn’t that huge a fan of the romance coming front and center near the end, but the writing? Exquisite.

Also, a side note: Shiori is an upstanding protagonist. People say her character regressed, but I believe all her decisions were necessary. I was holding on to every word she said and thought she thought like it was my lifeline.

The End

Okay. The moral lesson of the story: don’t expect a happily ever after after the stakes are dealt with. Relish in every good moment, especially if it’s Elizabeth Lim.

I can still be sad and acknowledge its artfulness. 😪

Price my therapy sessions to the author’s bank account. Please, and thank you.


Thank you for reading!

This whole post was uncalled for, but forgive me, I haven’t been so enthusiastic about something in so long. There’s something dangerous about Gindara, the kingdom Shiori’s family rules over. Actually, the entire world. You get so intoxicated with the magic, enchantments, and sheer glory that you might forget where you are. Who you are.

For a moment.

It’s mystifying, but will that stop me?

😏

Author: ☁ Breanna ☁

(If I commented on your post at a suspiciously early/late time, it's because I live far, far away.) Greetings and salutations. 'Tis I, Breanna! I am a homeschooled Christian teen whose heart is bursting with praises to her almighty King. I hope your day is going fine and dandy. If it is or isn't, I'd recommend visiting my blog for a laugh or possible new learnings. But beware, no grouches allowed! I love art, books, baking and cooking, school (who doesn't?!), family, Jesus, and meeting new people (hint hint!). Please stop by. In reading this, you know me but not I to you! THE CURIOSITY IS TORTURE!

9 thoughts on “*Bookish Rant* Elizabeth Lim will pay for my therapy.”

  1. I have absolutely no idea what you are talking about, but your bewildered rage is palpable through my screen. 😂 So should I read this? Not read this? Toilet paper the author’s house and slash her tires? Yes to all of it?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Reading my words over, this entire post was incoherent, and no one can convince me otherwise. It’s a miracle you got the message. 😂😭 I’ve been wronged, I tell you! I’ll take up your offer on toilet paper and tire slashing, but you’d have to read the book and let me know what you think to do that, y’know. 👀

      Liked by 1 person

      1. There does seem to have been a fair bit of hyperventilation involved in the writing of this post, but I’ve been in those situations myself after an upsetting literary experience, so I can’t judge too much. This book is a sequel, right? So I’d have to read two in order to fully understand the primal anguish you’re currently experiencing? This is going to be interesting.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Crazy how you could tell. A sequel, indeed, and I’m mentally debating whether you’ll end the first one so enthralled you have to read the second one or so mad you have to read the second one. I’m split, so I’ll just wait and see.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I didn’t actually love this book as much as the first one….I guess it was satisfying enough, but I don’t know. It took me a while to get through this one. It’s probably not a book problem but a me problem. I’m glad you loved it!
    Are you planning to read Her Radiant Curse? I got that one for Christmas and I can’t wait to give it a try.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Nah, the overall rating is lower than the first, which is causing me to question what *I* saw different. 😆 Maybe compared to the first, the stakes were lower and the time to get there dragged on—but there were redeeming qualities. 🤔
      Yes, actually! I was hesitant at first, but now I’m pretty much sold. Nice, tell me how it goes!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started