🦒Swan Lake Ramblings, Pt. 2πŸΉπŸ’—

I’ve returned with Part 2! The ramblings are a little niche, and that’s because I’m barfing a month’s worth of pent-up frustration onto this post. If you’re willing to hear a stubborn, creatively blocked writer complain for 6 minutes, welcome.

My January was packed, to begin with, but insert my brain taking twice as long to process what’s in front of me because I’m mentally stuck in my draft, and you have a lovely little disaster.

With the encouraging reception of Pt. 1 of my Swan Lake tirades, here’s the second part for you, fellas!

rambling #7

1/4/2024

I’m stressed. SL has so much potential and could be spectacular if I pull it off.

*distressed swan honks*

Nah, scrap that. Let’s opt for Plan B.

*subtly inserts an unrelated GIF*

ballet and writing

1/31/2024

I’m doing a ballet variation from Swan Lake, and in the class where I started learning it, my teacher told me my character was performing for the guests in the courtyard, and I had to acknowledge the Queen and prince at the start to pay my respects.

It was like a lightbulb dinged over my head.

The timing was immaculate; I’d come to the class stuck on a chapter for SL, but my dance gave me a creative shift in course, served to me on a silver platter. (Is God saying something?!)

Scene: Siegfried follows an inkling, which should lead to a primary plot point, but the suspense falls flat. He was practically ambling around with no strong enough motivation.

What if I switched up the location from the ballroom to the courtyard, where all guests of different ranks were gathered, plopping them smack-dab in the middle of dangerβ€”upping the stakes and potential loss? It was perfect!

rambling #8

2/1/2024

I’ve reached a milestone: showing a whopping total of three people my messy first draft. Three!

Throwing the advice of “Never show anyone your first draft” to the wind, I’ve earned an “I LOVE IT” and an “I LIKE IT” from the same person, a “DUDE 18K MY DUDE” from another, and an enthused “SWAN LAKE, SWAN LAKE, SWAN LAKE” chant from the first to have heard the title A Swan Lake Retelling (aka “that writer friend”). And get thisβ€”one of them read and reread it, which flatters me to no end, but she did so in an hour or less when I spent months slaving away to hit the 18k mark.

So, you know, whatever.

I’m actually not 100% sure why I shared it when I’m . . . *counts finger* not even 1/3 of the way finished if my estimate is correct, but I needed an ego boost. And when you have kind writer friends who’ll tell you what you want to hear, it’s the perfect equation!

rambling #9

2/3/2024

Oh, to be young and think that 321 words in 20 minutes wasn’t a good run. Now, I can hardly reach 200 in 15 minutes. Because you know what? I’m stubborn.

I’m fully aware that the more efficient, rewarding path is plotting or plantsing, but my brain refuses to cooperate and insists on winging it. Every. Single. Writing session.

I’ve been forwarded articles on how to deal with this by generous people who share my plight, but do I listen? No!

I shouldn’t worry, though. If anything, I should learn that trial and error and a “what’s the worst that could happen?” attitude can bite back. Procrastination, in the long run, is not worth it. I’ve got to get that through my thick skull.

One day.

update

My NaNo profile says SL’s reached 18,793 words, but the Google Doc file where I’m writing the novel says it’s at 19,141 words. We’re believing the Doc, and that’s not just for my ego. Okay? Okay.

  • 19,141/60,000 words
  • 10,859 words until 1/2 mark

The above list consisted of my NaNo stats in the first series of ramblings, but since I haven’t maintained a streak recently nor regularly updated my stats, I don’t have the same updates to offer. Oopsie.

But I do feel better about this. There was a time when I was bound to my stats and focused less on the writing part of writing. This is healthier, right?

rambling #10

2/6/2024

(sitch: having to incorporate a thingamajig in the story that you know nothing about)

I currently have five tabs openβ€”a Quora, two Google searches, an image, and some other websiteβ€”all dedicated to crossbow research. I’d have more if I could, but I’m afraid my 8-year-old laptop couldn’t handle it.

So, apparently, you position the weapon on your shoulder when aiming. Unlike the traditional bow and arrow, the crossbow’s string doesn’t need to be drawn back, which means the user doesn’t need to exert as much effort. In practical translation, my flimsy-armed peeps with a passion for bowhunting, this one’s for you!

(I’ve opened three more tabs here.) An arbalest/crossbow was made of wood and later substituted with metal, making it much more fearsome, and consisted of a bolt, sear, and trigger. In its original version, there was a stirrup that the crossbowman put his foot through to stabilize the weapon while he put the bow in.

Do you know what I’m talking about? I sure don’t.

🏹 Pew pew. 🏹 Pew pew pew.🏹

Ugh, why did I spend time playing with PinyPons and Barbies as a child when I could have been finding out about crossbowsβ€”

*smacks bloody fingers on random keys in frustration* aekakjdsafhkldhafkakjsdowuiqsjhsakhwoui

(Don’t try that at home. I summoned an app I’ve never opened when I did that.)

*inserts another obscure GIF since no one will notice*

rambling #11

Why, yes, I used a lyric for an actual line of dialogue in my draft. Laziness? Well, I like to call it “reused creativity.” (Copyright? Never heard of him.)

Ha.

Yes, I have lost the will to show anyone else my first draft.

rambling #12

What have I become? Who is this person who listens to classical music by already deceased composers? And of her own volition?!

This is why I’ve been labeled a grandma in various friend groups.

But we don’t gatekeep, so here’s some Rimsky-Korsakov for you.

You’re welcome.


Thank you for reading!

This was less relatable than Pt. 1 since it’s just me on the brink of good ol’ sanity. No uplifting ending. No encouraging message this time.

And if you’re wondering why I mentioned “bloody fingers” in the 10th ramblings, that’s because I’d punctured myself with a needle while sewing my pointe shoes before writing that. Five times, on different fingers. But the grind never stops! Huzzah! πŸ€Ίβš”

Someone restrain me.

What’s one major roadblock you’re facing with your story? Let’s hear it!

(Why is this post 1,116 words if I don’t have the strength to add 150 to my Doc? 😭)

Author: ☁ Breanna ☁

(If I commented on your post at a suspiciously early/late time, it's because I live far, far away.) Greetings and salutations. 'Tis I, Breanna! I am a homeschooled Christian teen whose heart is bursting with praises to her almighty King. I hope your day is going fine and dandy. If it is or isn't, I'd recommend visiting my blog for a laugh or possible new learnings. But beware, no grouches allowed! I love art, books, baking and cooking, school (who doesn't?!), family, Jesus, and meeting new people (hint hint!). Please stop by. In reading this, you know me but not I to you! THE CURIOSITY IS TORTURE!

18 thoughts on “🦒Swan Lake Ramblings, Pt. 2πŸΉπŸ’—”

  1. enjoying reading this as I sit here in a farquaad wig before my production of shrek. So thanks for the escapism / image of my own fading sanity. Keep doing these! I hope the rest of the writing goes great. 😁

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s so cool!! Farquaad was always the real diva. πŸ’… Hope your production goes swimmingly, but not to the point that you’re ever swimming. What was I saying? Oh, right. We writers have to lose our wits together! πŸ’ͺ Thank you, and for your writing as well! πŸ˜‰

      Liked by 1 person

  2. You’d think as someone whose mother is a music teacher, I’d have heard that classical piece by now. Well, at least that’s one problem remedied. This entire post was just one giant stream of consciousness, and I loved it. πŸ˜‚ But congrats on the word count, and the draft showing-off! Always a great feeling when you get the right friends to encourage you. At this point I classify a good writing session as “I wrote an entire word today” and leave it at that. You’ve also reminded me that I have a NaNo account, because I totally forgot about it. 

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Why stop there? *shoves the entirety of Scheherazade in your face* I haven’t listened to any other piece in that symphony, but the guy’s a Russian composer, so what’s the worst that could happen? Whew, that’s a relief. Every time I schedule stuff then reread them on the published date, there’s always at least one wrong detail that leaves everything in shambles. Thanks! I specifically had to tell said friends not to give me correction or feedback since my ego was paper thin. 😭 An entire word in a single session?! That’s preposterous. Then again, those weird spurts tend to catch you by surprise, and 600 words just flow from somewhere within you in one sitting. But those are rare, aren’t they? Better update your NaNo soonβ€”how else can I spy on whatever it is you’re working on? πŸ‘€

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I love Russian composers (well…Tchaikovsky), so I think I’ll eat this up. It’s the mark of a true writer, I suspect, to have that last minute error that means you have to revamp literally everything. Otherwise, what are you even doing with your life? I hope your friends were gentle on you so your self-esteem didn’t take a nosedive. My own is relatively fragile, so I can sympathize. And hey, maybe it’s a really good word, okay? I’d probably get more done if I stopped poking around on the internet distracting myself, but that’s neither here nor there. I actually scrapped my latest project and am rewriting it from the foundation up, so my NaNo count is now grossly inaccurate. Ah, well. 

        Liked by 1 person

  3. also that’s so sweet about all the positive feedback on the rough draft! πŸ₯ΉπŸ’› I’m thankful to have a few friends who seem to be nearly as obsessed with my writing as I am, and I know I can come to them when I need to be like “how does this sound?” or need to feel better about my work ☺️

    Liked by 1 person

  4. This isn’t a roadblock, but rather a “πŸ˜…”… I’m going through what I have so far of one of WIPs and changing the POV from 3rd person to first person (to make my one book consistent with the other), alternating between the perspectives of three main characters (the FMC, the MMC, and the antagonist)… it actually isn’t as hard as I’m making it sound, though, and it’s the perfect opportunity to read through what I’ve written as I go and fix some necessary things here and there. I’ll be glad when I’ve gotten through it all and can keep writing where I left off though!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oosh, sounds like a trip. Switching the POV mid-draft is not easy, but I’m cheering you on! And I love how your looking on the bright side. πŸ˜‰ A tedious process, for sure, but if it helps making look back at it easier, it’s totally worth, it in my opinion. XD Hope the process goes smoothly! And thanks for your lovely comments, Maddie. πŸ’•

      Liked by 1 person

      1. thank you! it’s a long process but it’s fun to read through what I’ve written so far and kind of get a review how the story goes. πŸ™‚ you’re welcome for the comments! i certainly don’t mean to spam, haha, but as things resonated with me i wanted to respond before I lost my train of thought! πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Yesss, you’re doing so good!
    I think it’s so cool that you’re doing a Swan Lake ballet while writing a Swan Lake story. And it’s especially cool that you’re able to draw inspiration from the ballet!
    (casually mentions that I want to write a Swan Lake retelling one day)
    My current story is actually going fairly well, more or less. I get discouraged enough, but I also have written some things that I think are some of my best work. (I’m kinda getting a big ego here…someone had better humble me xD)
    I wish you all the luck as you continue writing!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aah, that’s such an encouragement! πŸ₯°
      I know, right? Just when I thought I’d lost motivation, God re-introduces me to the beauty and grace behind the ballet. His timing is flawless.
      That. Would be. SO AMAZING. We would be Swan Lake buddies! The thing about it is that the plot is basically the same all throughout; the way you tell the story would be what differs from one storyteller to another. I’d love to see what you’d come up with. 🀩
      Sad to say I can’t help you since I feel the same, which is why by all means, inflate your ego to its max. I find the easiest way to undo the heightening of my self-esteem is to reread what I wrote. πŸ˜‚
      Thank you, Diamond, and to your writing endeavors as well!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yay!
        That is great!
        Oh, for sure! I have a twist on the tale of Swan Lake that I don’t think I’ve ever seen anyone do before, but if I can pull it off, I think it’d be a lot of fun!
        *shrugs* at least we’re in the same boat! That does work much of the time, xD, great advice!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started